FastGPT vs MaxKB

Short answer

FastGPT: Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. MaxKB: Enterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose FastGPT if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo) and lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 8 GB RAM).

Choose MaxKB if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

FastGPT vs MaxKB side by side

FastGPTMaxKB
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isKnowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform.Enterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows.
LicenseFastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions)GPL-3.0
License typeCustom / conditionalCopyleft (GPL)
License conditionsCommercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console.Free to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars29.9k23.0k
Last commitOct 22, 2026Oct 21, 2026
Latest releasev4.17.2v2.10.8-lts
Minimum hardware2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk
Recommended hardware2 vCPU · 8 GB RAMNot published
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €19.99/mo (recommended spec: €35.99/mo)from €35.99/mo
Deploy methodDocker Compose (install script)Docker
Known gotchas2 listed2 listed
DetailsFull FastGPT guide →Full MaxKB guide →

Key differences

  • License: FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)).
  • Official hardware: FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM). MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk.
  • Est. server cost: FastGPT: from €19.99/mo. MaxKB: from €35.99/mo.
  • Deploy: FastGPT: Docker Compose (install script) · multi-container stack. MaxKB: Docker · single container.
  • GitHub stars: FastGPT: 29.9k. MaxKB: 23.0k.
  • Last commit: FastGPT: Oct 22, 2026. MaxKB: Oct 21, 2026.
  • Latest release: FastGPT: v4.17.2 (Oct 9, 2026). MaxKB: v2.10.8-lts (Oct 22, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.

FastGPT vs MaxKB: FAQ

FastGPT or MaxKB: which should a small business choose?

Choose FastGPT if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo) and lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 8 GB RAM). Choose MaxKB if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

Which is cheaper to self-host, FastGPT or MaxKB?

FastGPT: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo).

How much hardware do FastGPT and MaxKB need?

FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM). MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk.

What is the license difference between FastGPT and MaxKB?

FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)). Free to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is FastGPT or MaxKB more actively maintained?

FastGPT: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. MaxKB: Active, last commit Oct 21, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, FastGPT or MaxKB?

FastGPT installs via Docker Compose (install script) (multi-container stack); MaxKB via Docker (single container). FastGPT lists 2 known gotchas and MaxKB lists 2; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.