Coze Studio vs FastGPT
Short answer
Coze Studio: Open-source edition of ByteDance's Coze agent-building platform. FastGPT: Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. They sit in different categories (AI app & agent builders and Knowledge base & RAG) but overlap: All of them combine a document knowledge base (RAG) with a visual builder for Q&A, agent or workflow apps.
Choose Coze Studio if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Coze Studio vs FastGPT side by side
| Coze Studio | FastGPT | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | Open-source edition of ByteDance's Coze agent-building platform. | Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. |
| License | Apache-2.0 | FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) |
| License type | Permissive | Custom / conditional |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. | Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 21.7k | 29.9k |
| Last commit | Jul 29, 2026 | Oct 22, 2026 |
| Latest release | v0.5.1 | v4.17.2 |
| Minimum hardware | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €19.99/mo | from €19.99/mo (recommended spec: €35.99/mo) |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose | Docker Compose (install script) |
| Known gotchas | 2 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only |
| Details | Full Coze Studio guide → | Full FastGPT guide → |
Key differences
- Category: Coze Studio: AI app & agent builders. FastGPT: Knowledge base & RAG.
- License: Coze Studio: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional).
- Official hardware: Coze Studio: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM).
- Deploy: Coze Studio: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. FastGPT: Docker Compose (install script) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: Coze Studio: 21.7k. FastGPT: 29.9k.
- Last commit: Coze Studio: Jul 29, 2026. FastGPT: Oct 22, 2026.
- Latest release: Coze Studio: v0.5.1 (Feb 5, 2026). FastGPT: v4.17.2 (Oct 9, 2026).
Same for both: GPU: not required or not stated; Est. server cost: from €19.99/mo; Status: Active.
Coze Studio vs FastGPT: FAQ
Coze Studio or FastGPT: which should a small business choose?
Choose Coze Studio if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).
Which is cheaper to self-host, Coze Studio or FastGPT?
Coze Studio: from €19.99/mo. FastGPT: from €19.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do Coze Studio and FastGPT need?
Coze Studio: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM).
What is the license difference between Coze Studio and FastGPT?
Coze Studio: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Coze Studio or FastGPT more actively maintained?
Coze Studio: Active, last commit Jul 29, 2026. FastGPT: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Coze Studio or FastGPT?
Coze Studio installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); FastGPT via Docker Compose (install script) (multi-container stack). Coze Studio lists 2 known gotchas and FastGPT lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- Coze Studio self-hosting guide · FastGPT self-hosting guide
- All Coze Studio alternatives, ranked
- All FastGPT alternatives, ranked
- AnythingLLM vs FastGPT
- Coze Studio vs Dify
- Coze Studio vs Flowise
- Coze Studio vs Langflow
- Coze Studio vs MaxKB
- Coze Studio vs RAGFlow
- Coze Studio vs Sim
- Dify vs FastGPT
- FastGPT vs MaxKB
- FastGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- FastGPT vs Open Notebook
- FastGPT vs PrivateGPT
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Coze Studio GitHub repository: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio
- Coze Studio documentation: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio/wiki/2.-Quickstart
- Coze Studio license: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio/blob/main/LICENSE-APACHE
- Coze Studio hardware requirements, Coze Studio deploy instructions: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio#readme
- FastGPT GitHub repository: github.com/labring/FastGPT
- FastGPT documentation, FastGPT hardware requirements: doc.fastgpt.io/self-host/deploy/docker
- FastGPT license: github.com/labring/FastGPT/blob/main/LICENSE
- FastGPT deploy instructions: github.com/labring/FastGPT#readme
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.