LobeHub (LobeChat) vs NextChat

Short answer

LobeHub (LobeChat): Polished multi-model chat and agent workspace with plugins and knowledge bases. NextChat: Lightweight ChatGPT-style web app you can run with one Docker command. Both are in our Private ChatGPT-style chat category.

Choose NextChat if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

NextChat publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

LobeHub (LobeChat) vs NextChat side by side

LobeHub (LobeChat)NextChat
CategoryPrivate ChatGPT-style chatPrivate ChatGPT-style chat
What it isPolished multi-model chat and agent workspace with plugins and knowledge bases.Lightweight ChatGPT-style web app you can run with one Docker command.
LicenseLobeHub Community License (Apache-2.0 with conditions)MIT
License typeCustom / conditionalPermissive
License conditionsCommercial use is allowed as a frontend and backend service without modifying the source. Developing and distributing a derivative work requires a commercial license from LobeHub.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. Branding, admin panel and permissions are sold separately as an Enterprise Edition.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars83.4k88.9k
Last commitOct 22, 2026Oct 20, 2026
Latest releasev2.2.20v2.16.1
Minimum hardware2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 20 GB diskNot published
Recommended hardware4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 50 GB diskNot published
RAM measured by usNot tested yet42 MiB idle, 57 MiB working (our test, v2.16.1, Oct 22, 2026)
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €19.99/mo (recommended spec: €35.99/mo)from €6.49/mo (based on our test, not official)
Deploy methodDocker Compose (setup script)Docker
Known gotchas3 listed3 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Free (OIDC free)Not documented
Audit logNot documentedNot documented
RBACNot documentedNot documented
DetailsFull LobeHub (LobeChat) guide →Full NextChat guide →

Key differences

  • License: LobeHub (LobeChat): LobeHub Community License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). NextChat: MIT (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: LobeHub (LobeChat): minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 50 GB disk). NextChat: not published.
  • Est. server cost: LobeHub (LobeChat): from €19.99/mo. NextChat: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
  • Deploy: LobeHub (LobeChat): Docker Compose (setup script) · multi-container stack. NextChat: Docker · single container.
  • GitHub stars: LobeHub (LobeChat): 83.4k. NextChat: 88.9k.
  • Last commit: LobeHub (LobeChat): Oct 22, 2026. NextChat: Oct 20, 2026.
  • Latest release: LobeHub (LobeChat): v2.2.20 (Oct 18, 2026). NextChat: v2.16.1 (Jul 29, 2025).

Same for both: Category: Private ChatGPT-style chat; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.

LobeHub (LobeChat) vs NextChat: FAQ

LobeHub (LobeChat) or NextChat: which should a small business choose?

Choose NextChat if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). NextChat publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Which is cheaper to self-host, LobeHub (LobeChat) or NextChat?

LobeHub (LobeChat): from €19.99/mo. NextChat: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do LobeHub (LobeChat) and NextChat need?

LobeHub (LobeChat): minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 50 GB disk). NextChat: not published.

What is the license difference between LobeHub (LobeChat) and NextChat?

LobeHub (LobeChat): LobeHub Community License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed as a frontend and backend service without modifying the source. Developing and distributing a derivative work requires a commercial license from LobeHub. NextChat: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. Branding, admin panel and permissions are sold separately as an Enterprise Edition. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is LobeHub (LobeChat) or NextChat more actively maintained?

LobeHub (LobeChat): Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. NextChat: Active, last commit Oct 20, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, LobeHub (LobeChat) or NextChat?

LobeHub (LobeChat) installs via Docker Compose (setup script) (multi-container stack); NextChat via Docker (single container). LobeHub (LobeChat) lists 3 known gotchas and NextChat lists 3; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.