Jan vs NextChat
Short answer
Jan: Offline desktop ChatGPT alternative that runs models on each employee's computer. NextChat: Lightweight ChatGPT-style web app you can run with one Docker command. Both are in our Private ChatGPT-style chat category.
Choose Jan if you want: no server to rent (desktop app).
Choose NextChat if you want: larger community (88.9k vs 45.0k GitHub stars).
NextChat publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Jan vs NextChat side by side
| Jan | NextChat | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Private ChatGPT-style chat | Private ChatGPT-style chat |
| What it is | Offline desktop ChatGPT alternative that runs models on each employee's computer. | Lightweight ChatGPT-style web app you can run with one Docker command. |
| License | Apache-2.0 | MIT |
| License type | Permissive | Permissive |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. Branding, admin panel and permissions are sold separately as an Enterprise Edition. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 45.0k | 88.9k |
| Last commit | Oct 22, 2026 | Oct 20, 2026 |
| Latest release | v0.8.7 | v2.16.1 |
| Minimum hardware | 8 GB RAM · 10 GB disk | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | 16 GB RAM | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | 42 MiB idle, 57 MiB working (our test, v2.16.1, Oct 22, 2026) |
| GPU | 6 GB VRAM minimum for GPU acceleration | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | No server (desktop app) | from €6.49/mo (based on our test, not official) |
| Deploy method | Desktop installer | Docker |
| Known gotchas | 2 listed | 3 listed |
| Telemetry | Off by default (opt-in) | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Not documented |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Not documented | Not documented |
| Details | Full Jan guide → | Full NextChat guide → |
Key differences
- License: Jan: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). NextChat: MIT (Permissive).
- Official hardware: Jan: minimum 8 GB RAM · 10 GB disk (recommended 16 GB RAM). NextChat: not published.
- GPU: Jan: optional / see notes. NextChat: not required or not stated.
- Est. server cost: Jan: no server (desktop app). NextChat: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
- Deploy: Jan: Desktop installer · desktop installer on each computer. NextChat: Docker · single container.
- GitHub stars: Jan: 45.0k. NextChat: 88.9k.
- Last commit: Jan: Oct 22, 2026. NextChat: Oct 20, 2026.
- Latest release: Jan: v0.8.7 (Oct 20, 2026). NextChat: v2.16.1 (Jul 29, 2025).
Same for both: Category: Private ChatGPT-style chat; Status: Active.
Jan vs NextChat: FAQ
Jan or NextChat: which should a small business choose?
Choose Jan if you want: no server to rent (desktop app). Choose NextChat if you want: larger community (88.9k vs 45.0k GitHub stars). NextChat publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, Jan or NextChat?
Jan: no server to rent (desktop app).
How much hardware do Jan and NextChat need?
Jan: minimum 8 GB RAM · 10 GB disk (recommended 16 GB RAM). NextChat: not published.
What is the license difference between Jan and NextChat?
Jan: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. NextChat: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. Branding, admin panel and permissions are sold separately as an Enterprise Edition. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Jan or NextChat more actively maintained?
Jan: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. NextChat: Active, last commit Oct 20, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Jan or NextChat?
Jan installs via Desktop installer (desktop installer on each computer); NextChat via Docker (single container). Jan lists 2 known gotchas and NextChat lists 3; see each app page.
Related
- Jan self-hosting guide · NextChat self-hosting guide
- All Jan alternatives, ranked
- All NextChat alternatives, ranked
- Jan vs LibreChat
- Jan vs llama.cpp
- Jan vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- Jan vs LocalAI
- Jan vs Ollama
- Jan vs Open WebUI
- LibreChat vs NextChat
- LobeHub (LobeChat) vs NextChat
- NextChat vs Open WebUI
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Jan GitHub repository: github.com/janhq/jan
- Jan documentation, Jan hardware requirements, Jan deploy instructions: docs.jan.ai/desktop/install/linux
- Jan license: github.com/janhq/jan/blob/main/LICENSE
- NextChat GitHub repository: github.com/ChatGPTNextWeb/NextChat
- NextChat documentation: github.com/ChatGPTNextWeb/NextChat#deployment
- NextChat license: github.com/ChatGPTNextWeb/NextChat/blob/main/LICENSE
- NextChat hardware requirements: github.com/ChatGPTNextWeb/NextChat#requirements
- NextChat deploy instructions: github.com/ChatGPTNextWeb/NextChat#docker-recommended
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.