Activepieces vs Dify
Short answer
Activepieces: Open-source Zapier alternative with AI agents, MCP and human-in-the-loop steps. Dify: Visual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows. They sit in different categories (Workflow automation with AI and AI app & agent builders) but overlap: All of them let you build multi-step workflows or agents that call LLMs and expose or connect to other systems.
Choose Activepieces if you want: fewer license conditions (Open core vs Custom / conditional) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Choose Dify if you want: larger community (159k vs 25.2k GitHub stars).
Activepieces publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Activepieces vs Dify side by side
| Activepieces | Dify | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Workflow automation with AI | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | Open-source Zapier alternative with AI agents, MCP and human-in-the-loop steps. | Visual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows. |
| License | MIT (core) + Activepieces Enterprise License (ee directories) | Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) |
| License type | Open core | Custom / conditional |
| License conditions | Everything outside packages/ee and packages/server/api/src/app/ee is MIT. Code in those directories needs a commercial license. | Commercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 25.2k | 159k |
| Last commit | Oct 22, 2026 | Oct 22, 2026 |
| Latest release | 0.92.3 | 1.17.1 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | from €19.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker (single container, embedded DB) | Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 2 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Yes, by default |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Paid / enterprise only (SAML paid) | Paid / enterprise only |
| Audit log | Paid / enterprise only | Not documented |
| RBAC | Paid / enterprise only | Basic free, more in paid plan |
| Details | Full Activepieces guide → | Full Dify guide → |
Key differences
- Category: Activepieces: Workflow automation with AI. Dify: AI app & agent builders.
- License: Activepieces: MIT (core) + Activepieces Enterprise License (ee directories) (Open core). Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional).
- Official hardware: Activepieces: not published. Dify: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM.
- Est. server cost: Activepieces: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Dify: from €19.99/mo.
- Deploy: Activepieces: Docker (single container, embedded DB) · single container. Dify: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: Activepieces: 25.2k. Dify: 159k.
- Latest release: Activepieces: 0.92.3 (Oct 12, 2026). Dify: 1.17.1 (Sep 10, 2026).
Same for both: GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 22, 2026.
Activepieces vs Dify: FAQ
Activepieces or Dify: which should a small business choose?
Choose Activepieces if you want: fewer license conditions (Open core vs Custom / conditional) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Choose Dify if you want: larger community (159k vs 25.2k GitHub stars). Activepieces publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, Activepieces or Dify?
Activepieces: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Dify: from €19.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do Activepieces and Dify need?
Activepieces: not published. Dify: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM.
What is the license difference between Activepieces and Dify?
Activepieces: MIT (core) + Activepieces Enterprise License (ee directories) (Open core). Everything outside packages/ee and packages/server/api/src/app/ee is MIT. Code in those directories needs a commercial license. Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Activepieces or Dify more actively maintained?
Activepieces: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. Dify: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Activepieces or Dify?
Activepieces installs via Docker (single container, embedded DB) (single container); Dify via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). Activepieces lists 2 known gotchas and Dify lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- Activepieces self-hosting guide · Dify self-hosting guide
- All Activepieces alternatives, ranked
- All Dify alternatives, ranked
- Activepieces vs Langflow
- Activepieces vs n8n
- Activepieces vs Sim
- Coze Studio vs Dify
- Dify vs FastGPT
- Dify vs Flowise
- Dify vs Langflow
- Dify vs MaxKB
- Dify vs n8n
- Dify vs RAGFlow
- Dify vs Sim
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Activepieces GitHub repository: github.com/activepieces/activepieces
- Activepieces documentation, Activepieces hardware requirements, Activepieces deploy instructions: www.activepieces.com/docs/install/options/docker
- Activepieces license: github.com/activepieces/activepieces/blob/main/LICENSE
- Dify GitHub repository: github.com/langgenius/dify
- Dify documentation, Dify hardware requirements: docs.dify.ai/en/self-host/deploy/quick-start/docker-compose
- Dify license: github.com/langgenius/dify/blob/main/LICENSE
- Dify deploy instructions: github.com/langgenius/dify#quick-start
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.